Omens by Kelley Armstrong Review

kelleyarmstrong-omens

I’ve never read the Otherworld Series by Kelley Armstrong but I did read The Darkest Powers trilogy and I remember liking it a lot thus I picked up her first book in her new series, Cainsville. Actually, when I was buying this book I thought it was a standalone but unfortunately it is a series. I wasn’t looking to start a new series because I really do not enjoy waiting a full year for the next book to come out. I rather read a new series when all the books are out and I can read it all at once, that way you won’t forget the characters or the plot. Usually, when books are released a year apart, I always have to re-read the whole series and that is very tedious, especially if there are more than three books in the series. Sorry about my little rant.

Nevertheless, moving on from the fact that I started a new series, I very much enjoyed this book.

The book follows a twenty-four year old woman who grew up a life in privilege. She is the only daughter of a very rich family and she is engaged to a handsome CEO. Her life is pretty much perfect until she finds out that she is adopted and her real parents are serial killers, serving a lifetime sentence. Apparently, her adoptive parents did not know of this thus it is a shock to everyone. The woman, Olivia, becomes the attraction of all the media. She starts to seek refuge and finds the little town Cainsville, where she adapts to a new life and tries to investigate the truth about her biological parents.

I am developing a strong interest in mysteries so this book was very fascinating. This book is also categories as paranormal but honestly there isn’t much paranormal in the whole story except a few “omens” and superstitions. From other reviews that I read, everyone thinks this book is very misleading in that case. I did not find it to be that disappointing. I feel like later on in the series there is going to be more paranormal material. I think because Olivia is new to the world and she just starts to understanding all the omens so do the readers. The readers do know that there is something more than the ordinary going on even though Olivia is oblivious to this at some parts.  I enjoyed the way this book was written because sometimes between the chapters that Olivia was narrating, there was a chapter from a minor character and their intake of the situation. For example, I’ll try not to spoil anything, when Olivia moves to the town of Cainsville, the readers are able to get a perspective from an elderly couple from whom we find out that they were expecting her and they do not seem to be  bothered that her parents are serial killers. This illustrates that there is something supernatural going on because how else would the people of Cainsville know that Olivia was coming and they accepted her even though they do not like many outsiders? We just do not know what this supernatural aspect is. My theory, which is pretty obvious, is that they are all witches and Olivia is one too. It even indicates that Olivia’s biological parents were practicing Wicca and that it is the reason behind all the murders, I mean “sacrifices”.

I would recommend this book for a light reading. The only thing that i did not like about it is that we didn’t get a chance to fully see how Olivia’s life was before she found out she was adopted. The books main focus is the mystery so do not expect anything else from it. Not much romance either, even though there is a possible love interest 😛

I give it 4/5. Meaning I liked it at a 4.

The writing 4/5

And the plot, I give 5/5 since is very thought through.

With love, Maryana

One thought on “Omens by Kelley Armstrong Review

Leave a Reply

