The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey Review

Hello everyone,16101128

I had my two week hiatus, but not intentionally. I’ve been moving and then I had my exams and now I have two weeks before classes start again. I am going to try to read as many books as I can in this time. I am currently reading the Great Gatsby and I just finished reading the 5th wave.

So what did I think of the 5th wave?

I think it actually lived up to its expectation. It captured my attention right away and I just kept on flipping through the pages trying to figure out what happens.

I wasn’t too keen on reading this book when I bought it. I wasn’t impressed by the cover (and I do judge books by their cover since it’s the first thing that makes you pick up a book) but I picked it up because I heard mixed reviews on this. I heard that it’s similar to the hunger games and I expected it to be very predictable. It wasn’t.  This is one of those YA novels that gives me hope that there is some creativity and originality left in this field. I must admit that I haven’t read many alien invasion stories so maybe that’s why I was impressed.

The book follows a girl named Cassie (for Cassiopeia) which is unusual name and I wonder if it will ever have a great significance other than being a constellation of a vain Greek queen. The first one hundred pages explain what happened to the people and to Cassie. This is a story of aliens invading earth and murdering the human race which they do in five waves. “After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one”. The aliens have been watching the human race since the beginning of history thus they know how people think and how to extinct the human race. The first wave took away all the electricity, the second wave brought a flood that destroyed all the major cities by water where most people live, the third wave brought a flu and only the immune survived, the fourth wave is when the aliens descend and start killing the people themselves but the difficult part is that they are not some green skin monsters, nobody can tell how they look like. Now it’s the 5th wave and no one knows what to expect. Cassie is alone, she feels like she is the only human left on earth, maybe she is, but she hopes she can find her little brother who was taken by the same people that killed their father. The book switches perspective between Cassie and this guy, Ben, who is at the same camp as Cassie’s little brother. So we get an outside perspective and an inside perspective.

I read so many terrible reviews on this book so people must be thinking that I have a terrible taste in books. Maybe I do but I loved this book. I think the plot was very well developed and thought through. It wasn’t predictable even though some things were made obvious to the readers when the characters had no idea. The book started off at a slow pace and then started increasing pace as the readers started understanding what is going on.  Some reviews that I read said that it went by too fast but I loved the fast paced action packed ending.

I didn’t think that this book was very similar to The Hunger Games. Sure, it is apocalyptic , there is a girl fighting for survival and being watched all the time but that’s a similar theme to hundreds of other books. You hear of every new dystopia book being compared to the hunger games now, why? I love the hunger games but it’s not like it’s the best or original dystopia novel, and it’s not like everyone compares it to Battle Royale (most people don’t even know what that is).

I thought that the book was well written, but I have to admit when the story captures my attention, I barely pay attention to the writing. Since nothing caught my attention therefore it must be okay. Excuse my poor judgment skills 😛

Overall, this was a very nice read. I give it 5/5

Writing 4/5

Plot 5/5

With love, Maryana

6 thoughts on “The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey Review

  1. I’m with you, I LOVED this book. I don’t really like it when people try to compare two books to each other. I don’t think it’s fair. I believe that each book is an individual and should be treated as such. Anyway, fear not for your taste in books, I think it’s impeccable! And besides, not everyone is going to like the same things anyways 🙂

    1. aww thank you. I agree with you with the fact that each book should be treated as an individual even though it may share some aspects with another book. If the books were all so similar what would be the point in reading all of them? I think that every book has something unique about it the same way each person is unique in their own way (even though on average a person has 7 look-a-likes across the world). 😛

Leave a Reply

