Scarlet by Marissa Meyer Review

This is definitely one of the best YA novels that I have read.scarlet

This is the second book in the Lunar Chronicles, following Cinder.

I am surprised at the fact that Scarlet was not strictly based on the character Cinder. Instead, Scarlet is introduced. She is an 18 year old girl living in France and working on a farm when her grandmother goes missing. The book begins as the police call off the investigation for Scarlet’s grandmother’s disappearance. Scarlet is furious and she vows that she will keep looking for her grandmother no matter what, without the help of the police. Other new characters are introduced, such as Wolf and Thorne, and we still get to read about Cinder, Iko, and Kai. I was not expecting for Cinder to narrate some chapters since I thought the book would focus on Scarlet’s story only. Also Kai, Wolf, Thorne, and even Queen Levana get to narrate some chapters.

Both, Wolf and Thorne are the bad boy type of guys but they are very different. Wolf is very strong, quiet and shy, and very serious. Thorne on the other hand, is very arrogant and sarcastic. I like them both equally and find that they both serve the same kind of purpose for the girls (they assist them). I should mention that Wolf is Scarlet’s love interest but Cinder is still drooling over Kai thus, she and Thorne are only friends.

The book, Scarlet, is inspired by the story of Red Riding Hood the way Cinder was inspired by Cinderella. The third book, Cress is inspired by Rapunzel. The finale book, Winter, is inspired by Snow White. I hope I got it right. 😛  I can’t wait to see how they all tie in together.

There are many versions of the story of the Red Riding Hood, the most important facts are; that there is a girl in a red hood, walking through the forest to her grandmother’s house, and there is the wolf. Thus, Scarlet is described with red hair and wearing a red hoodie. Scarlet meets Wolf, who-SPOILER- is one of the genetically modified Lunars. Also there is a brief scene in a forest but that’s as far as the similarities go. There was also a part where one of the Lunar wolves gave the illusion of being Scarlet’s grandmother that’s another similarity to when the wolf in the original story dressed up as the grandmother to fool the girl.

I was impressed by Cinder, but Scarlet was on a higher level.

Why I love it…

–          It’s well written

–          The plot is well developed

–          There aren’t many books on fairy tales in the future, I would say it’s pretty unique

–          It’s not too predictable

–          It takes place around the world and space.

–          It changes perspective.

–          The story is capturing

–           And I just  love fairy tales

I got a signed copy of the book, but I didn’t have the chance to meet the author, unfortunately.

I would recommend this book to any one, it’s a pleasant read.

Sorry if my review is all over the place.

I said I would explain my rating system in the previous post, but I haven’t yet. It’s coming!!

I like this book on scale 5/5

The writing is 5/5 even though it is plain and simple, easy to read.

The plot, I give 5/5

Kisses, Maryana

5 thoughts on “Scarlet by Marissa Meyer Review

  1. You were correct about which fairy tales each book is based on. I actually didn’t like Scarlet as much as Cinder, though I still liked it very much, but I think it’s because I enjoyed Cinder and Kai more than Scarlet and Wolf. You are right though that Scarlet was not predictable (and Cinder definitely was!). I really enjoy Meyer’s writing and I’m really looking forward to the next two books!

    1. From all the reviews i read, everyone seems to like Cinder more than Scarlet. I don’t understand why. I connected with both of them even though my personality is more like Scarlet’s. Maybe that’s why i didn’t mind her. I think Scarlet and Wolf have a typical relationship that we are used to seeing in a YA novel while Cinder and Kai’s relationship is more of a fairytale. And we all love those happy endings. 🙂

    1. yes! i love all the covers!!! The cover is one of the reasons why i picked up Cinder in the first place 😉 I don’t know why but everyone seems to like Cinder more than Scarlet. I like them both equally. I can relate to Scarlet more though, i can never take a no for an answer. 😛

Leave a Reply

