Emma by Jane Austen review

This is a must read according to my friend Kat, who has gifted me with this novel. 9781454901334M

Many people say this is the best of Jane Austen’s novels and has become everyone’s favorite, as in the case of my friend.

I, on the other hand, cannot say that this is my favorite of Jane Austen novels because this is the first Jane Austen novel I have read. I did take a while. I originally started reading it this January but I didn’t really get into it. I picked it up again few weeks ago, determined to finish it. Again, it didn’t really capture my attention until the last one hundred pages, where things became very interesting.

I am going to admit that it was challenging to read and I zoned out completely at some points. I had to read Sparknotes to see what I missed. 😛 But I did like reading it when it wasn’t dull.

I love the early 19th century society with all its formality.

I actually like Emma’s character a lot as well. You either love her or hate her. I loved her character because I found it easy to connect with her.  She exhibits an ordinary girl to whom everyone can relate to at some point. I’m sure at some point in our lives we think we can play cupid and try to match a couple like Emma does with Harriet and Mr. Elton. Also at some point in our lives, we also think we’ll never get married and will rely on our parent’s fortune for the rest of our lives like Emma plans originally. The only thing I did not like about Emma is that, towards the end she changes her relationship with Harriet because of their class rank after everything they’ve been through. Emma really cares about her reputation and her status but I desire to think that, that it is because of the society she was born in and how she was raised. I do not understand how people blame Emma for being spoiled and thinking of herself too highly. It is not like she spoiled herself.

I also would have liked to see more of Emma’s and Mr. Knightley’s relationship. There wasn’t anything romantic in the novel but that is the usual for the classics.

I’ve heard that Jane Austen based Emma on herself. I think that is very interesting because we not only get to know Emma’s character but how Jane Austen was in real life.

I think this was a very good book to read and it had the nice Happy Ever After ending. I haven’t read many classics that end happily and that didn’t have many deaths. This was definitely a first.

I am glad for receiving this book and reading it.

I give it for 4/5 of my liking.

Plot 4/5

Writing 5/5

I need to set up a better rating system! Next post!

Kisses, Maryana

12 thoughts on “Emma by Jane Austen review

  1. Great review, Emma is not my favorite Austen novel either, and I had to tread through the beginning also but in the end I did enjoy the novel. I think what makes Emma redeeming is that the reader is inside her mind therefore you can see that she only has the best intentions which takes away the ‘mean girl effect’ that would be there without this redeeming quality. Also you see Emma humbled by Mr.Knightley which is realistic, we all are humbled sometime throughout life as we are human. I agree it’s not Austen’s most romantic book but Mr.Knightely’s declaration of love was extremely sweet to read.

    Overall, lovely review!

    P.S.– I had no idea that Jane Austen based Emma off herself, how interesting! I may have to reread it again so I can examine her better! 🙂

    1. Thank you for the lovely reply. Mr. Knightely’s declaration of love was definitely one of the highlights of the book. I suspected them marrying each other from the beginning. I am happy that Emma’s feelings matured and that she realized that she is in love with him.
      What is your favorite Jane Austen book? Maybe I’ll read it next 🙂

      1. I love Pride and Prejudice though that’s typical, but I also really love Northanger Abbey which is one of her more underappreciated works. It’s not her most romantic novel but it’s one of her most fun to read and Catherine Moreland (the protagonist) is one of Austen’s most realistic characters I believe.
        If you read it let me know what you think 🙂

      2. I am planning on reading Pride and Prejudice by the end of this year. Maybe I’ll be able to read Northanger Abbey next year. These books take time to read so i don’t want to rush them especially when i have a never ending reading list.

      3. Oh yes, I don’t blame you, all period pieces take time. I know the feeling of having a never ending reading list at the back of your mind… it can get a bit overwhelming! 🙂

  2. I have read two of Jane Austen’s books and they definitely seem long-winded in certain areas, so they’re not the easiest to read. I haven’t read Emma yet, but I look forward to seeing her character in print when I do. One thing about Jane Austen is that she said that her characters would always find their happy ending at the end of her books. I like that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

