he’s Gone by Deb Caletti Review

ImageHello everyone,

So I am currently reading Emma by Jane Austen and it is taking a while. I am only half way through but I intend on finishing it in the next week, hopefully.

As a breather between reading Emma, I read he’s Gone by Deb Caletti.

This is the first novel that I read by this author but I’ve heard that she has many YA novels.

Also this is not the usual fictional book I read because it does not have anything supernatural or extraordinary.

The reason why i picked up this novel is because the cover appealed to me and the story caught my attention since it is not what i usually read.

It follows the life of a middle age woman, who one day wakes up to find her husband missing. Throughout the book, the readers are introduced to her life, her relationships, and the events leading to her husband’s disappearing. Sounds kind of typical but I was still flipping through pages to find out what actually happened. I am going to admit that the ending was disappointing because the author did not want to make it a typical story following the circumstances. There was this big build up and then nothing.

Nevertheless, I enjoyed reading this book even though there was nothing special about it. It was boring and uneventful at some parts and obviously I couldn’t relate to the protagonist. I enjoyed reading it because I like to change perspective sometimes. The protagonist in this novel was the mother of a girl around my age.  I was satisfied reading about this woman, who is in love already, has a family and a career contrary to a teenage girl who falls in love with some you-are-too-good-for-me boy, has some special ability and has to save the world.

I wouldn’t recommend this book for anyone because as I said it is nothing special. It is written well though.

I liked the book-3/5

The writing is 4/5

I give the plot 3/5

One last thing; I know that I said I am reading Emma and that it is already different from the typical YA novel but I still wanted to take a break from it and read something else. I usually do this when I read classics. When I was reading Anna Karenina, I read Eve of Darkness by Sylvia Day. I never did a review on it because I didn’t have this blog at the time but since I am writing about it now…it wasn’t great, waste of my time.

Kisses, Maryana

Leave a Reply

