Ink by Amanda Sun Review

ImageYup, I am not consistent with my readings. I said that i would read either, Inferno, Emma, or the great Gatsby but i did not.

I was not planning on reading this but then I saw a signed copy of the book and I just had to have it. I am also a sucker for pretty covers too. And I’ve seen this book all over the place, so why not buy it.

This book was refreshing to read because it didn’t mention the usual supernatural beings such as vampire, werewolf, fairies, or angels. Instead, the book focused on Kami, Japanese gods and how they have powers through ink. This was very cool.  The protagonist, Katie, moves to Japan after the death of her mother to live with her aunt. She is the usual outcast and is attracted to the most popular boy at school. Typically, the boy barely notices her at first but then is fascinated by her character and obviously both of them have a special connection.

I really love how the setting takes place in Japan. I honestly barely know anything about the culture and I enjoyed learning about their customs. I would love to visit Japan, it is so intriguing. Kendo sounds like so much fun.

Another interesting fact about this book is that it includes illustrations. It was very nice to see the drawings that were mentioned throughout the book on the pages.

The first chapter was very good and I had high hopes for the rest. But as I got to know the characters better, especially Katie, I became disappointed. I found Katie’s character to be very irritating and annoying. I do not want to spoil anything for those who actually want to read this book so I am just going to say that she is very nosy and thinks of herself more worthy than she actually is. Also, maybe this is because of cultural differences, I found some of the events to be overdramatic. I did enjoy how the book concluded. SPOILER; I kind of wish that Katie did go to Canada to see how the events would play out when she is on her own, but I am happy with her decision to stay too.

Am I excited for the next novel?

Not really, but I’ll still read it.

On scale from 1 to 5, I liked this book around 3.

I give the writing 4/5 and the idea 4/5.

Love, Maryana

3 thoughts on “Ink by Amanda Sun Review

    1. Thank you! The only thing i didn’t like is the personality of the main character as mentioned. Maybe your intake on her will be different, i hope you enjoy and i can’t wait to read your review.

Leave a Reply

