Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo Review

Image

Finally read it!

It is sad to say that I did not fall in love with this book. Don’t get me wrong, I did love reading it and there was nothing that irritated me. The plot was very good and so was the setting. I love the fantasy world that Leigh Bardugo created with a thing called “small science”. The Grisha could manipulate matter thus it is their power. It’s not magic, its science. 🙂  Also, I love how the setting is based on 1800s Russia. I am close to Russian so I can relate to everything in the book.

Alina, the protagonist, exhibits character development which is a good thing for a YA novel. She started to understand herself and her power towards the end of the book. She possesses a rare ability which she must use to save the world from the Darkling. That’s kind of typical but it is presented in a unique way that you will be surprised.  I actually love the Darkling even though he is ‘the evil’. I kind of wish he and Alina could be together because both of them have special gifts and they are the most powerful but they are fighting each other. I am always intrigued with characters like this. I am going into spoiler mode. I am happy for her that she is with her childhood friend, Mal, I love couples like this too. But Mal is pretty ordinary and I hate it how Alina cannot truly be herself with him. She cannot use her power with him and he will never understand that part of her because he has no power of his own. One of my favorite parts of the book was when Alina and the Darkling demonstrated their power at the King and Queens ball. They are wrong for each other but it’s like the yin-yang in my opinion. So the Darkling has obviously put his spell on me.

If I read this a year ago I would probably be drooling over this. I do not understand why I am not doing so right now but I guess I expected more out of it. Maybe I’ll love it more when I reread it or start the second one.

Every book that I’ve been reading lately is turning into a movie. I am happy and annoyed by that because once a book is adopted into a movie some of its appeal is lost to me. And then there are those fanatics that just watch the movie and say that they know everything about it even though they have not read the book. But I am excited that David Heyman is going to produce this movie. Harry Potter was one of those rare adaptations that did not lose its magic on the big screen. Harry Potter films brought the books to life contrary to other book/films.

I am not sure when I’ll be posting my next review. I started reading inferno by Dan Brown, the Great Gatsby, and Emma by Jane Austen. I do not know which one I’ll finish first plus there always a chance I am going to pick up a different novel but right now I need to focus on my studying (I fell behind on some of my course work). I am not a dedicated blogger yet but hopefully I’ll be able to create a schedule for myself and maybe I will be posting more often.

I give the story 4/5

Writing 4/5

Thanks for reading

Love, Maryana

11 thoughts on “Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo Review

  1. This is on my TBR list and I was really interested in it because it’s supposedly really unique and well the Russian of course. I’ll definitely put it on the top of the pile now. Great review! 🙂

  2. I’ve heard SO much praise for this book, so it’s nice to read a review that’s a little more even-keel about it. I still will probably try to read it sometime though.

  3. Ah, it’s sad that you didn’t end up adoring this novel!
    I agree with you about the movie adaptations. I am sort of excited, but sort of dreading the adaptations all at once. And yes, the people who do not even read the book/s, but claim to be uber fans? Get out, please. Haha 😛
    Personally, I don’t think the sequel is better than this one, as this is one of my favourite books ever, but S&S is still an awesome book. I hope you enjoy it!
    And the Darkling has cast his spell on me, as well. I just can’t help but ship him and Alina. They would be so perfect together.

    1. i adore the idea of it, it was interesting but i just hoped for little bit more. I haven’t picked up the second one yet, i have so many books to read! Hopefully ill be able to read it before the end of summer

  4. Finally! I read Shadow and Bone a couple months ago and while I enjoyed it I didn’t think it matched up to the greats. I agree that their’s potential for the series and as a debut for an author it’s great, but I too was just expecting more.
    Then I joined the blogging world and everybody seemed to absolutely adore it making me feel as if I completely missed something.
    Looking forward to hearing your thoughts about the second one! 🙂

    1. I agree with you. I always feel like i missed something or didn’t read the book properly(if that’s possible) or i just have a bad understanding when everyone says a book is great and i don’t think so.

Leave a Reply

