Cinder by Marissa Meyer

ImageThis was my second time reading this book and for the second time I loved it.

It is very easy to read and you just don’t want to stop.

I found it to be inspired by Cinderella (thus the name Cinder) and Sailor Moon. Two of my favorite childhood princesses.

It follows the traditional Cinderella story, there is an unfortunate girl that is left with her stepmother and her two evil stepsisters who treat her as a servant girl and there is obviously the Prince.  But it takes place many years into the future so there is some nice adaptation to the futuristic Cinderella. Such as, (I don’t want to spoil too much) that she is a cyborg, partially machine and human. Cyborgs are considered a disgrace and they are the lowest of the low and that is our poor Cinder. Also as I said, I feel like the book is inspired by Sailor Moon because in the book, there are these Lunar people, living on the moon obviously, and they possess magic and powers. There is the Evil Queen who desires to wipe out humanity and a Princess who will save all the people and the Earth (equivalent to the story of Sailor Moon).

Nevertheless, even though the book is predictable, it is a pleasurable read for all ages.

The story captured my attention right away, I loved the fairytale and the dystopian aspects to it. It has nice twists to it that still keeps you on your toes at some parts.

I definitely would recommend this book for everyone who is looking for an enjoyable quick read.

I rate the story 4/5

Writing 4/5

With LoVe, Maryana

P.S. I did a little research on Marissa Meyer and i found out that she is in fact a huge fan of Sailor Moon which she also wrote many fanfics about.

Leave a Reply

