Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

First Review!!!

Anna Karenina

Anna Karenina takes you back to nineteenth century Russia. It introduces the readers to the upper class lifestyle but also mentions the peasants living at that time. One can easily imagine themselves living and interacting with the character. In the novel, Leo Tolstoy illustrates the political, religious, and philosophical themes that were debated at the time. Some say that his views are specifically described through the character of Levin.

I do not particularly understand why Tolstoy chose the name of Anna Karenina for this novel since she is only one of the main characters. I would say Levin is as big of a character as she is plus there are many more major characters such as Vronsky, Oblonsky, etc. I think though that Tolstoy dedicated the book to her name because of the ending and because she is kind of the center of all events to the book. I guess I just answered my own question.

Anyways, writing a review is harder than I thought it would be. It took me almost two months’ time to finish reading this book. I enjoyed it for the most part but at some points it was extremely dull. It is hard to follow when Tolstoy penetrates on the political issues of the time even though it was well described and written. Those parts were not that interesting to me but it depends on the reader because some might find those long chapters the best ones in the book. What really stood out to me about the book is how Tolstoy illustrates the characters and the surrounding and the way the characters develop. Tolstoy illustrates the characters so well that you understand why they do the things they do. Even though Anna’s death is devastating, Tolstoy portrays it in a way that I could understand why she did it.

I did not fully understand some parts and cannot fully appreciate this book to its full extent. I think I am going to re-read this book in ten years and understand it better because currently I am new to this kind of literature.

I love the way the book is written even though I only read the translation and I wish I could have read it in Russian.

I think this is one of those books that one must read in their life time. I wouldn’t consider it a waste of time even though it will take a while to read.

I don’t even know how I should rate this book.

I give the writing 5/5

Story 4/5 because of those some dull parts

Well my first review was not so great. I don’t know what i should write about or not. I hope ill get better at this 🙂

With love, Maryana

5 thoughts on “Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

  1. I haven’t read Anna Karenina, so I can’t comment on the book, but I can tell you as a fellow book blogger that your review was just fine 🙂 I’ve been blogging for about a year and a half now and I still stress over my reviews, but it does get easier to put yourself out there over time. My one piece of advice (that I’m trying to follow myself) is to be honest and to stay true to yourself. If you can do that, then you’re golden 🙂

  2. I’ll have to pick up this one at some point when I get some time. I’ve been looking for some good books outside of my usual genres.

    I have to say, that your review read perfectly fine—just believe in what you’re saying. A review that is personal to you will still hold meaning to others reading it. Heck, on my book reviews I spend more time talking about my own writing than the book in about 50% of my posts, and, for some reason, people are still reading them!

    Point is, I’d find something that works for yourself in a review more than what you think other people would want, and I think you did that here (as well as in your post about the Hilary Duff book) beautifully. You’ll settle into a pretty decent rhythm pretty quickly too, I’ve found. Just keep posting and you’ll be surprised at how comfortable you’ll get writing them!

    I look forward to reading more of your reviews! Maybe I’ll broaden my horizon out of my very deep fantasy rut in the process 🙂

    1. Thank you very much!
      i read some of the books you read, such as Morganville Vampires and Sookie Stackhouse. I liked them alot and i would comment on your reviews but its been a long time since i read them so i don’t remember much.
      I still read fantasy books too but i try to rotate between reading recently written novels and the classics.
      It takes time to read the classics but its always astonishing (even though i do not always understand what im reading :P)

Leave a Reply

